Soccer game

Mooch Soccer Game rewards the best senior players in the region – Trentonian

The coronavirus pandemic may have spoiled the end of the 2020 high school football season locally by forcing the cancellation of the Glenn “Mooch” Myernick Senior Games, but that hasn’t stopped the organizers of the annual event from taking time to honor some of Mercer County’s top high school girls and boys soccer players this fall.

The Games are played in memory of Myernick, who grew up playing soccer in Lawrence and gained national and international fame, before dying suddenly in 2006.

The Mooch Senior Games, which are coached and officiated by members of the Mercer County Soccer Hall of Fame, the event’s main sponsor, should have been played in honor of Mike Lee this season.

Lee, recognized by many as the best referee in the region, has never accepted pay to work at the Games, which has become a trend among his fellow referees. The Hamilton High West graduate and MCSHOF inductee had worked in high school, college and Mercer Men’s League games for the past 41 years before moving to Naples, Fla., Before the end of the 2020 season.

For now, the hope is that a vaccine will be distributed, so that the Games can return in late November 2021, perhaps at Rider University’s Ben Cohen Field, his most recent home.

To do this and to keep the event free to the public, the Mooch Senior Games will need renewed financial support from former sponsors such as Central Jersey Youth Soccer Association, EDP and MSSL Soccer, Bob Smith Soccer Academy, Fornaro and Francioso LLC and the Spadaccini Law Firm, the Arch Reid family of Princeton, Conte’s & the Baldino family, New Jersey Manufacturers Insurance, the Ancient Order of the Hibernians Club and American Legion Post 458. New sponsors are also coming. welcome.

Here are the 48 senior boys and 48 senior girls soccer players from Mercer County who would have been invited to play at the Mooch Senior Games 2020. The plan is for everyone to receive a match jersey (red or white in memory of the Lawrence High teams of Mynerick), which will be delivered to their coaches.



Olivia Denney, Kayla Denney, Kaylee Munster (Allentown); Marian Ordonez, Abigail Buker (Ewing); Maxine Marano, Madison Bressler (Hamilton West); Carina Garcia, Liz LeChard (Hightstown); Emily DeNero, Evana Hementez, Jamie Wills, Claire Tellier, Nicolette Evich (Hopewell Valley); Anna Hyson, Chloe Hill (Hun School); Joelle D’Angelo, Lauren Edgar, Briana Audet (Lawrence); Paige Gillen, Marcia Ojo (Lawrenceville School); Isabella Pesce, Nicole Rende, Maddie McCauley (Notre-Dame); Gia Girman, Gabi Girman (Nottingham); Ella Radigan, Mya Ademilola (Peddie School); Kylie Daigle, Sophia Kavulich, Jordan Mahony (Pennington School); Kelly Beal, Jules Romano, Sophia Miranda (PDS); Vanessa Ponce, Greta Bush, Grace Heilbronn (Princeton); Brynn Hopkins, Becca Siracusa, Mary Fotiou, Mackenzie Martin (Robbinsville); Morgan Hart, Emma Nini (Steinert); Ruby Miranda (Trenton); Ashley Moritz, Sonia Nindra (WW-P North); Elizabeth Nielsen, Emma Gartenberg (WW-P South).


Evan Egnatovich, Jack Dendler, Crue Maglione, Aleks Bednarski (Allentown); Anthony Cruz, William Bolmer (Ewing); Jhardel Ortiz, Matthew Paterno (Hamilton West); Ariel Barreto, Luis Alvarado (Hightstown); CJ Colt, Mason Bursac (Hopewell Valley); Alex Donahue, Amar Anand (Hun School); Damian Szumigraj, Brennan Miller (Lawrence); Sunjay Riener, Spencer Lee (Lawrenceville School); Trevor Stio, Ryan Britton (Notre Dame); Devin Coleman, Zac Given (Nottingham); Aidan Loughran, Andy Quinn (Peddie School); Babacar Niang, Stas Korzeniowski, Jack Borden (Pennington School); Chima Chukumba, Will Sedgley (PDS); Nick Petruso, Jared Bell, Youri Laoui, Ethan Parker (Princeton); Skyler Frostrom, Sebastian Rosica, Josh Lichtenstein (Robbinsville); Dylan Kotch, Romario Azer, Mike Garofalo, Dante Falvo (Steinert); Bryan Ovalle, Michael Elizondo (TCA); Yobilyn Mateo, Moses Henry (Trenton); Joe Lilleywhite, Ian Damianov (WW-P North); Dan Grund, Andy Bae (WW-P South).