Soccer player

Magnolia ISD Men’s Soccer Player Wins 19-5A Honors

Magnolia West and Magnolia each had a player who won an outstanding award in Men’s Football from District 19-5A while newcomer Katy Jordan, who qualified for the state tournament, had three players honored this year.

Jafet Ramirez capped off his decorated career at Magnolia West with the league’s Offensive Player of the Year award. Ramirez played a big role in extending the Mustangs playoff run last month. Magnolia West has reached the playoffs every season since 2011.

Magnolia junior Gustavo Seglio was selected as the District Midfielder of the Year after a strong performance for the Bulldogs.

Katy Jordan’s Ryan Armijo was selected the league’s most valuable player. Marcelo Ojeda was named Warriors Newcomer of the Year while Jason Meekins was named Coach of the Year.

Katy Paetow had two superlatives as co-Defensive Player of the Year in Toheeb Oladipupo and Goaltender of the Year Ismael Espinosa.

Zach Dang of College Station was the second half of the co-defensive player of the year award.

Awards are voted on by district coaches.

Magnolia West’s first team was Wyatt Eggleston, Edgar Garcia and Weston Hawks.

Magnolia had a first team pick in Abel Piedra.

Jordan had three first team picks in Elijah Betancourt, Ben Bucic and Piece Sanchez.

Paetow had three first-team picks as well as Jose Dominguez, Lukas Herrera and Roberto Sepulveda each received the honour.

College Station had two first picks on the team in Jack Contenbader and Ethan Riechman.

A&M Consolidated’s first two team picks were Will Askew and Bryce Marianno.

Charlie Boggan (Brenham), Adrian Calderon (Waller) and Osman Gutierrez (Bryan Rudder) completed the first team selections.

Magnolia West had three other second-team selections. Juan Delapez, Joel Herrera and Jose Maldonado have each landed there.

Magnolia had two second-team selections as Michael Martinez and Ernie Mendoza represented the Bulldogs.

Jordan had Hani Camara Taan, Owen Collins, Owen Rodgers and Juancarlos Santos each in the second team.

Paetow’s Benjamin Alimasi, Angel Garcia, Joshua Sorriano and Erick Tierrafria were the second teams.

For College Station, Jonathan Corado, Owen Green and Luke Grismer were the team’s second picks.

A&M Consolidated was represented by Seth Goble and Max Pellois on the second team.

The second team also included Alexander Gutierrez (Brenham), Ivan Salazar (Brenham), Martin Sosa (Rudder), Francisco Lorta (Rudder), Pablo Ortuno (Waller) and Alexis Portillo (Waller).

Magnolia West had two honorable mentions in JD Ruiz and Miguel Trejo.

Honorable mentions from Magnolia were Allan Maradiaga and Jesus Villanueva.

Noah Betancourt (Jordan), Cole Vernon (Jordan), Cesar Garcia (Paetow), Santiago Quiroga (Paetow), Rafael Pavia-Morat (College Station), Andrew Riechman (College Station), Mason Crites (Consol0, Joseph Perez (Consol) , Christiano Cantu (Waller), Eduardo Portillo (Waller), Rodrigo Melgar (Brenham), Caludio Zavala (Brenham), David Aguliar (Rudder) and Oscar Carlos (Rudder).

[email protected]