Soccer player

Goode named Football Player of the Year

Gibraltar/Sevastopol senior goalkeeper Theo Goode was named Packerland Football Player of the Year and a unanimous all-conference first-team selection.

The Vikineers, who finished 6-3-1 in Packerland play and handed league champion Sturgeon Bay their only conference loss this season, had two other players named to the first team – senior midfielder Garrett Voight and senior defender Mateo Jauregui – and a player on the second team – sophomore midfielder Gabriel Peterson.

The Clippers, who went 9-1 in the league to win the conference title, had six players named to the first team – senior forward Robert Alas; senior midfielders Gavin Fernandez, Porter Gigstead and Ben Hooker; and senior defensemen Johnny Hubbard and Isaac Marsh.

Sturgeon Bay also had two players named to the second team – senior forward Isaac Schulz and senior goalkeeper Emmitt Braschnewitz.

Southern Door senior linebacker Taylor Schaefer has been named the 2022 Packerland Conference Defensive Player of the Year in 11-man football. File photo by Kevin Boneske.

Eagles Linebacker Defensive Player of the Year

In 11-man football, the undefeated league champion Southern Door had several players who received all-conference honors, including senior linebacker Taylor Schaefer who was named Defensive Player of the Year.

Schaefer was one of three Eagle players named to the defensive first-team unanimous selection, along with senior defensive back Christian Counard and defensive lineman Kody Marchant, who was also named defensive lineman. the year. Another senior Southern Door linebacker, Jonas Jandrin, received first-team honors.

On offense, the Eagles had three other players who received unanimous first-team honors – junior running back Zack Lynch, senior offensive end Jack Peterson and senior offensive lineman Lance LeGrave, who was also named Offensive Lineman of the Year. Marchart was also named to the first team as an offensive lineman.

The only Conference Football Player of the Year honor someone from Southern Door did not receive, Offensive Player of the Year, went to Kewaunee senior quarterback Mitchell Thompson.

Sturgeon Bay, which returned this season with an 11-man football team, had a player named to the first team on offense – junior lineman Brody Kollath – and on defense – senior linebacker David Zuehlke.

On the Southern Door second team, players who received the honor included senior tight back and linebacker Derek Schinktgen, senior defensive back Alec Guilette, and senior defensive lineman Cody Nellis.

Sturgeon Bay’s second team, all conference selections, included running back Zuehlke, junior quarterback Danny Lodl, whose season was cut short by injury, sophomore offensive end Bryce Plzak, junior kicker Eli Schuster and junior linebacker Mason Sacotte.

Among those who received honorable mention for Southern Door were Peterson at defensive back and junior offensive lineman Matthew Malvetz.

Sturgeon Bay players named honorable mention include fullback and linebacker Kaden Lettie, sophomore running end and defensive back Patrick Haese, senior offensive lineman Amaree Lyons, sophomore defensive back Caleb Plzak and l junior defensive end Gannon Evers.

Sevastopol’s Bailey Rikkola (right) is shown digging the ball in as Johanna Andreae (1) watches the October 6 volleyball match against Gibraltar. Both players were named to this year’s All-Packerland Conference First Team. File photo of Rachel Lukas.

All Volleyball Conferences

All four women’s volleyball teams in Door County in Packerland had at least one player named to the first team.

Sevastopol’s two first-team caps include versatile senior striker/right side Johanna Andreae and senior libero Bailey Rikkola.

The two Southern Door players on the first team are junior middle hitter Paige Olson and sophomore setter Alaina Shimon.

Gibraltar senior outside hitter Elli Scherer and Sturgeon Bay junior outside hitter Nida Zukauskaite were also named to the first team.

The Eagles had two other players who received second-team honors — senior middle/right side hitter Allianna Dufek and sophomore outside hitter Kendra Shimon.

Three Sevastopol players received honorable mentions – middle blocker/senior hitter Reese Schauske, junior all-around/outside hitter Alaina Schopf and senior setter Emma Stueber.

The two Sturgeon Bay players named honorable mention are junior libero Chloe Maccaux and senior middle blocker Scarlet Serafico.

Gibraltar’s senior outside hitter Rae Jungwirth also received an honorable mention.

This year’s Player of the Year is NEW Lutheran all-around/outside senior hitter Greta Wise.