Soccer player

A FAMILY FACE: Davies wins again Canada’s Men’s Soccer Player of the Year

Alphonso Davies has won Canada Soccer Player of the Year three times in the past four years. (Photo courtesy of Canada Soccer)

Alphonso Davies has been named Canada Soccer Player of the Year for 2021, it was announced on Wednesday.

Davies won the national award for the third time in four seasons after setting the men’s national team record with eight assists, winning his third consecutive Bundesliga title and becoming the first Canadian to win the FIFA Club World Cup. FIFA with Bayern Munich.

The U.S. National Team will meet Davies and his Canadian teammates in a World Cup qualifying game in Hamilton, Ont. On January 30.

Davies scored five goals in addition to his eight assists as Canada reached the final round of the Concacaf World Cup playoffs for the first time since 1996-97. In addition to his single-year assists record, he also set the Men’s National Team all-time record with 15 career assists and the Canadian record with eight career assists in the Cup playoffs. of the world.

He played 13 international games for Canada, most notably undefeated when he was on the field with nine wins and four draws. He scored one of his five goals in the Concacaf Octagonal, a scoring goal against Panama when he won the game’s honors in Toronto on October 13. He also won Canadian Soccer Player of the Month honors in February, June and October.

In Germany, he helped Bayern win the 2020 Club World Cup in February, the 2020-21 Bundesliga crown in May and the 2021 DFL Supercup in August. Across Europe, he also helped Bayern reach the 2020-21 UEFA Champions League 1st finals and a 6-0-0 record in the 2021 UEFA Champions League group stage. -22. He played 42 matches in all competitions from January to November with the club.

Davies was honored with a vote shared by the media and Canadian coaches. The Canada Soccer Player of the Year award is shared by the winners of the men’s and women’s national teams and teams. The female winner will be announced on Friday.

Davies of Edmonton, Alta., Was 13 when he made his debut for Canada’s national junior teams in 2014. He was 16 when he made his international debut for Canada on June 13, 2017, the most young player of the men’s national team in the history of the program. He scored his first goal for Canada on July 7 at the 2017 Concacaf Gold Cup. He won Canada Soccer Player of the Year in 2018, 2020 and 2021.

This is the 29th edition of the Canada Soccer Player Awards. In men’s football, Alphonso Davies finished first in the votes ahead of finalist Jonathan David and top five Cyle Larin, Tajon Buchanan and Stephen Eustáquio.

As part of the 2021 Canada Soccer Player Awards, Theo Corbeanu and Jade Rose were named Canada Soccer’s Youth International Players of the Year while Joshua Lemos was named Canada Soccer’s Futsal Player of the Year.

Past Canada Soccer Player of the Year Award Winners
2020 Alphonso Davies and Kadeisha Buchanan
2019 Jonathan David and Ashley Lawrence
2018 Alphonso Davies & Christine Sinclair
2017 Atiba Hutchinson & Kadeisha Buchanan
2016 Atiba Hutchinson & Christine Sinclair
2015 Atiba Hutchinson & Kadeisha Buchanan
2014 Atiba Hutchinson & Christine Sinclair
2013 Will Johnson and Christine Sinclair
2012 Atiba Hutchinson & Christine Sinclair
2011 Dwayne De Rosario & Christine Sinclair
2010 Atiba Hutchinson & Christine Sinclair
2009 Siméon Jackson & Christine Sinclair
2008 Julian de Guzman & Christine Sinclair
2007 Dwayne De Rosario & Christine Sinclair
2006 Dwayne De Rosario & Christine Sinclair
2005 Dwayne De Rosario & Christine Sinclair
2004 Paul Stalteri & Christine Sinclair
2003 Pat Onstad & Charmaine Hooper
2002 Jason deVos & Charmaine Hooper
2001 Paul Stalteri & Andrea Neil
2000 Craig Forrest and Christine Sinclair
1999 Jim Brennan & Geraldine Donnelly
1998 Tomasz Radzinski & Silvana Burtini
1997 Mark Watson and Janine Helland
1996 Paul Peschisolido & Geraldine Donnelly
1995 Alex Bunbury & Charmaine Hooper
1994 Craig Forrest and Charmaine Hooper
1993 Alex Bunbury